Post Decibel Festival Artist Highlight – Nina Kraviz

One of my favorite things about Decibel Festival is going to showcases where you know nothing about the artists playing, except that they play damn good music, and leaving the club craving to hear the new sounds you just experienced again and again.  Saturday night of Decibel Festival was a huge night for music.  There was basically just too much to pick from so I let my buddy make the decision.  We opted to go for a show he was extremely stoked for and I knew nothing about.  I was diving into an unknown realm of bass.

The Russian techno queen I went to see goes by the name of Nina Kraviz.  She is one of Moscow’s most sought after DJ’s at the moment, and made her way into many peoples sound systems earlier this year with her debut on BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix.  Upon my arrival to Q, the new Capitol Hill night club, I really didn’t know what I was getting my ears into.  I walked inside, and instantly a thumping low frequency being projected from Funktion-One speakers settled deep with my body.  It was a thump that would not sway, a thump that always hit on the quarter note, and was interlaced with metallic splashes, dings, with a sexy voice over top. I had entered the world of Nina Kraviz.

For the next hour and half I grooved and boogied my heart out at the front of the stage with the speakers with giant disco balls blessing the club with spectacular lighting and everyones energy thundering around me until it was time to move to the next venue to continue my musical exploration.  It was hard to leave.  Q was filled up with techno and house lovers of all ages, all backgrounds, and all with the same love for the music, but I had another showcase to go check out, so I had to go.

What’s the moral of this short story?  Listen to Nina Kraviz’ music, GO SEE HER LIVE, and let’s hope she’s invited back to Decibel Festival next year!

Video Credit: Galen Oakes courtesy of The Confluence.

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

